- History of Medvedkovo
- Clergy[ | at]
- The inner life of the church: timetable, website, vacancies
- Divine service in the Pokrovsky church and features of the church site
- Church of the Intercession of the Virgin in Medvedkovo: that the next?
- Schedule of services of the church in Medvedkovo and shrines
- in the 20th century
- The inner life of the Intercession Church
- Helpful information
- Getting there
- Temple on the map
Since the end of the Troubles, in Medvedkovo, was the estate and residence of Prince Dmitry Pozharsky. IN 1635 year he built a small white-stone hipped church in honor of his late son Fedor.
The temple and the beautiful area on the banks of the Yauza River were popular with many noble people of Moscow. So the sister of Peter I - Princess Sophia often came here to pray.
After the death of Dmitry Pozharsky, the estate in Medvedkovo together with the church was first inherited, and then, after confiscation, went to Prince B. Golitsyn.
For that short time, that the cathedral was under his control, Golitsyn reduced the number of temple chapels and created a new iconostasis. It is believed, that the order was carried out by the famous Russian icon painter Karp Zolotarev.
TO 1691 year Medvedkovo was transferred to F. Naryshkin. And after his death, the estate passed to L. Naryshkin. The Naryshkins' estate is located approximately 20 minutes walk along the alleys of the park.
Unfortunately, documents about the condition of the temple at that time were not preserved. But restorers point out, that under the Naryshkins the appearance of the church was significantly changed.
Village Medvedkovo 1964 year
Throughout its long history, the temple has never been closed. But before World War II, services were conducted only on the territory of the lower aisle. Then the building was renovated, and services began to be held in the upper church.
History of Medvedkovo
Since its inception, the church itself and the surrounding area have gone through many historical changes, and the inhabitants of the area became eyewitnesses of the events, made history. A church was built in honor of the liberation of local lands from the Polish-Lithuanian intervention.
After the death of Dmitry Mikhailovich Pozharsky, Prince Vasily Golitsyn became the new owner of local lands. Thanks to his investment, a new church bell was cast, on which the blacksmith engraved an inscription about the right of Golitsyn's eternal possession of these lands.
The area became popular in the 19th century, when wealthy people began to build summer cottages there
They also paid attention to the old church, which by that time was in need of overhaul. rather, from the church itself, built by Pozharsky, almost nothing left, because the temple was rebuilt almost from scratch
Clergy[ | at]
- Archpriest Valentin Timakov - rector of the church with 2002 of the year;
- Archpriest Georgy Basanets - in the church with 1993 of the year;
- Priest Alexey Parenkov - was ordained in 1993 year;
- Priest Nikolai Vasiliev - was ordained 2002 year, in 2007 graduated from the Moscow Theological Seminary;
- Archpriest Oleg Shalimov - in 2000 year was a deacon in this temple, and in 2007 he became a priest;
- Priest Alexander Gelashvili - was ordained 2007 year, in 2009 Graduated from St. Tikhon's Orthodox University for the Humanities, Faculty of Theology.
- Priest John Trokhin - ordained 2008 year, graduated from the correspondence department of the Kaluga Theological Seminary;
- Deacon Gennady Matveev - ordained 2010 year, serves as an altar boy in this temple with 2002 of the year.
Today the cathedral is visited by thousands of parishioners and tourists., artists and architects, art critics and historians. Four centuries later, the cathedral tells us about the development of not only the spiritual side of society or the field of architecture, but all the people, and together with him and Russia.
In the post-war period, the iconostasis significantly changes its original appearance. After the war, the wooden iconostasis was noticeably damaged and required restoration. Lost and lost icons were replaced with newly painted ones. The artists assure, that during the work they changed the main color of the iconostasis. A new style bell tower was built instead of the old belfry.
Today the temple belongs to the Russian Orthodox Church and you can visit the architectural ensemble at any convenient time. Visitors are asked to follow the rules of conduct and refuse to "excursions" during the services, so as not to interfere with the communication of believers with God.
Modern guests and parishioners see an amazing building, resembling a toy city with its unlikely worldly life, their laws and regulations. There is a special atmosphere of calmness, and the bell ringing plunges guests into the life of Russia in the 17th century.
The inner life of the church: timetable, website, vacancies
Even during world wars and revolutions, the service went on without interruption. Unless in the most difficult years, the ministers spent it in the first of two, lower floor of the church.
Every Temple has special days, in which the so-called "thrones" are celebrated - t. it is. holidays, related to his history or dedication. The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos in Medvedkovo has four such thrones:
- In honor of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos. It's two weeks in October, 1st to 14th. This throne is considered the main one for the Temple. The holiday is associated with an event, found their confirmation in many historical sources. According to various sources, at the end of the 9th or the beginning of the 10th century, a unique celestial phenomenon was observed. A cloud arose over the praying people, strikingly reminiscent of the Mother of God in outline. Part of the cloud in the form of her headscarf (homophora) descended on the worshipers and stayed over them until the end of the prayer. The story has many options for location, time and participants.
- In honor of St. Sergius of Radonezh it is celebrated twice - in July (from 5 by 18 number) and in autumn (from 25 September to 8 October). To this holy man, who lived and worked miracles in the distant XIV century, dedicated to the southern part - the right side chapel of the church.
- In honor of the icon "Sign" - the ancient icon of the Mother of God. According to legend, this icon became known during the siege of Novgorod in 1170 year. Then the Archbishop of Novgorod, obeying the voice, took the icon to the fortress wall. One of the many enemy arrows stuck into the icon and tears flowed from the eyes of the Mother of God. At the same moment on enemies, besieging the city, inexplicable fear attacked and they began to kill each other, and soon they completely lifted the siege. Liturgies and services are held from 27 November to 10 December.
- In honor of the nine martyrs of Kyziches. At the end of the 3rd century, the city of Cyzicus was mostly pagan. Few Christians of that period either left the city, either kept their faith in secret. IN 284 an initiative group of Christians appeared in the city, made up of people of different ages, professions and nations. They preached Christian moral standards and exposed the vices of the pagans. For this they were captured by the ruler of the city and executed.. When through 40 years under the emperor Constantine, the persecution of Christians stopped, their grave was found. Miraculously, their relics were incorruptible. A temple was erected on the site of the grave. These brave martyrs are remembered for two weeks of spring - from 29 April - until 12 Martha.
Divine service in the Pokrovsky church and features of the church site
- It starts every day at the same time - at 08:00.
- During the great church holidays and thrones, liturgy begins an hour earlier - at 07:00. In order not to be mistaken with time, you can check the schedule of services on the website of the Temple.
Ibid on the site, in the section "Notice board" you can find information about vacancies at the temple. Usually, servants of the temple are required - prosphores, refectory helpers, altar men. By phone, indicated on the board for more information.
There is a Mercy Service at the Temple, Youth Service, consultations of a psychologist and a lawyer. Sunday schools have been successfully operating for a long time.
There is also the site of the Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Medvedkovo.
Today the Church of the Intercession in Medvedkovo conducts divine services and welcomes guests.
The village of Medvedkovo in the surviving sources is first mentioned in the scribe book 1623 g. as the possession of the boyar Prince Dmitry Mikhailovich Pozharsky, liberator of Russia from the Poles, "Like his father's old estate".
The name "Medvedevo" (this is what the village was originally called) comes from its first owner, Prince Vasily Feodorovich Medved Pozharsky, who lived in the 1st floor. XVI в.
After the liberation of Moscow, Dmitry Pozharsky makes Medvedkovo his main residence near Moscow. IN 1623 city, according to documents, a wooden hipped-roof church was erected in the village in honor of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos, for which the prince ordered to cast a special bell in memory of the liberation of Moscow. The temple had another chapel in honor of St.. Peter of Alexandria,who was the heavenly patron of the first son of D.M. Pozharsky (Celebrated 8 December according to the present).
IN 1634-1635 gg. the prince built a new stone church on the site of the old wooden church in Medvedkov, also in honor of the feast of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos. New stone temple on a high basement, marquee-topped, with kokoshniks at the base and four domes, with three-part apse, with head and open gallery, became one of the last Moscow one-roof temples, the construction of which under Patriarch Nikon with 1652 g. was banned as inconsistent with the church order. The belfry was adjacent to the temple on the west side.
From the books of the Patriarchal Order follows, what to 1635 g. number of aisles, located in the temple, increased to five. In addition to the previous thrones, new ones appeared - the Signs of the Most Holy Theotokos (27 November / 10 December), prp. Varlaama Hutinsko (6/19 November) and prp. Anthony the Roman (3/16 August). The choice of thrones is by no means accidental, since they are all of Novgorod origin and are associated with the memory of the stay of Pozharsky as a voivode in Veliky Novgorod: the icon of the Sign is the main shrine and intercessor of Veliky Novgorod and the entire Novgorod land, and Varlaam Khutynsky and Anthony the Roman are famous Novgorod devotees, founded monasteries on the outskirts of the city, existing to this day. On the tenth anniversary of the death of the famous voivode, in 1652 city, the throne of the new chapel was consecrated in honor of the Nine Martyrs of Kizic. The appearance of the throne of the Nine Martyrs of Kiziches, rarely revered in Russia, is connected, probably, with the date of death of Prince D.M. Pozharsky
“Noteworthy, - wrote Nikolai Feodosievich Gulyanitsky,renowned historian of architecture tours and urban planning, - coincidence of the calendar date of the feast of the nine martyrs (29 April, old style) with the date of the ninth day after the death of D.M. Pozharsky (20 April 1642 city)».
In the 19th century, the temple underwent the following changes: the iconostasis was largely rebuilt, carving of the iconostasis, created simultaneously with the icons (1687 city) and badly lost, was replenished with later fragments. Some of the lost icons of the festive series were supplemented with newly painted. There is an assumption about a change in the color of the body of the iconostasis. On the site of the belfry, a new bell tower was erected in the classical style of the 19th century. Then the temple lost its ancient royal gates of the 17th century; presumably, they were taken to the palace of Grand Duke Sergius Alexandrovich in St. Petersburg.
Since its construction, the temple has never been closed., only in the 20-40s of the twentieth century the divine services were transferred to the lower church. The archives preserved the passport of the church for 1931 year. After the great Patriotic war, when was the renovation done, services resumed in the upper church.
After the war, the temple was renovated, and services also began in the upper church.
IN 1970 g. the restoration of the temple was supervised by the architect N. D. Nedovic.
IN 1970 years a large marble cross was erected at the entrance to the temple, found at the Medvedkovo cemetery. It had the inscription "Cross - victory over death".
Church of the Intercession of the Virgin in Medvedkovo: that the next?
With a stay at the Church of the Intercession of the Virgin in Medvedkovo, you are in relative proximity to the region's attractions
Due to the uneven arrangement of the world's landmarks should take into account the proximity of the conditional objects.
Sviblovo Estate ~ 1,3 km. Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Sviblov ~ 1,4 km
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Sviblov ~ 1,4 km
Moscow children's chamber puppet theater ~ 3,7 km
Botanical Garden named after. n. IN. Cicina ~ 3,7 km
Center for Oceanography and Marine Biology "Moskvarium" ~ 3,8 km
Museum-theater "Ice Age" ~ 3,9 km
Rostokinsky aqueduct ~ 4,1 km
Sculpture “Worker and collective farmer” ~ 4,2 km
Schedule of services of the church in Medvedkovo and shrines
The following shrines are located in the old church:
- miraculous icon of the Protection of the Mother of God,
- ancient icon "Sign" of the Mother of God,
- image of the Nine Kizic Martyrs,
- the image of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
Many Orthodox believers come to shrines every day, to pray and ask for help in various everyday difficulties. The temple hosts daily services. From Monday to Friday, the Morning Liturgy begins at 8:30 morning. Service in the Medvedkovo Church on weekends and holidays. Liturgy is held in 7:00 and 9:30 morning.
You can get to the church by bus or metro. By bus, then you need # 61, 71 or 628. You need to go to the stop "st. Reserved ". You can also go to the Babushkinskaya metro station, and then by bus no. 605 or 181 to the stop "st. Popular ".
The Lord is always with you!
Orthodox monasteries, cathedrals and churches
Church of the Intercession in Medvedkovo at the beginning of the 20th century. Illustration for the "Guide to Moscow, published by the Moscow Architectural Society for members of the V Congress of Architects in Moscow, ed.. AND. P. Mashkov "
The church was built in 1635 year by Prince Dmitry Pozharsky, as legend says, - in honor of the liberation of Russia from the Polish intervention and in memory of the deceased son from his first marriage, Fedor.
Originally, the south side-altar was consecrated in honor of the Monk Varlaam of Khutynsky, and the northern one - in honor of the Monk Anthony the Roman. IN 1652 g. Pozharsky's heir is issued a certificate for the consecration of the throne of one side-altar in the name of the nine martyrs of Kizic. As a result, the north side-altar was rededicated in the name of the nine martyrs.. Currently the south aisle (former chapel of prp. Varlaama Hutinsko) consecrated in honor of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
Great value, according to art critics, represented the so-called Medvedkovo altar Gospel, which went down in the history of Russian art 1681 years with miniatures, according to legend, executed by Princess Sophia. Later traces of it are lost.
The iconostasis of the temple was created in the late 1680s with the participation of the artist Karp Zolotarev and underwent alterations in the 19th century. At the same time, the ancient royal gates from the Medvedkovskaya church, according to historian I. M. Snegireva, were taken to the palace of Grand Duke Sergei Alexandrovich in St. Petersburg.
in the 20th century
Throughout history, the church has never been closed.. This is partly due to the fact that in the 30s of the XX century the church was not located in Moscow.. At the same time, services before World War II were only in the lower warm aisle. After the war, the temple was renovated, and services also began in the upper church.
IN 1970 g. the restoration of the temple was supervised by the architect N. D. Nedovic. The metal roof and windows on the tent were dismantled, the temple was returned to its original form.
IN 1970 years a large marble cross was erected at the entrance to the temple, found at the Medvedkovo cemetery. It had the inscription "Cross - victory over death".
The inner life of the Intercession Church
The cathedral is open daily, morning liturgy starts at eight in the morning. On days of great holidays, the start time of services is postponed an hour earlier. The schedule can be found on the church website, here is information about vacancies: Cathedral needs altarpieces, assistants and prosphores.
The temple has four patronal feasts, which refer people to the history of origin and dedication.
- FROM 1 by 14 October celebrations in honor of the Protection of the Virgin are held here. The holiday is considered the main one for the cathedral and is associated with the event, recognized in the scriptures. Believers remember the miraculous appearance of the Mother of God, what happened in Constantinople in the middle of the X century, in the Blachernae monastery, where was the riza, headdress and belt parts of the Virgin Mary. During the all-night vigil 11 October, believers watched the Most Pure Mother of God, walking through the firmament, accompanied by angels and a host of saints. Mary took off the veil from her head after the end of the prayers, to protect Christians from sinfulness.
- In the middle of summer and autumn, celebrations of the Monk Sergius of Radonezh are celebrated in the Intercession Cathedral. The saint was that person, who gathered the Russian people around a common goal and laid the foundations of the national spiritual culture. In the days of remembrance, the asceticism and heavenly intercession of Sergius are glorified. His merits include the resumption of the monastic community..
- At the end of November in the Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin, liturgies and services in honor of the ancient icon "The Sign" begin. Holy face, as the annals say, appeared during the siege of Novgorod at the end of the XII century. Archbishop, obeying the divine voice, put the icon "Sign" on the city wall. When one of the arrows hit the holy guise, and from the eyes of the Virgin, depicted on the canvas, tears flowed, the besieging army experienced tremendous fear and stopped shelling. At the services, the great donation of the holy canvas for the sake of the Russian people is remembered.
- At the beginning of March, in the Intercession Cathedral, the nine martyrs of Kyzies are recalled, who favored paganism at the end of the 3rd century. Christians, who lived here, left the place or kept the faith in deep secrecy. IN 284 g. the Savior's followers organized a group, who opposed the pagan order. Soon the initiators of the sermons were captured and executed.. Forty years later, their graves were discovered, everyone was surprised, that the relics remained incorrupt. Emperor Constantine ordered to build a cathedral on this site, to honor the memory of people, who gave their lives for the teaching of Christ.
On a note! Each of these patronal holidays has a corresponding icon.. The appearance of the Protection of the Blessed Mother of God helps from despondency, heals diseases. The image of Sergius of Radonezh relieves pride, intolerance and domestic troubles. "The Sign" protects against natural disasters, haters, enemies and reconciles relatives. The icon with nine kizic martyrs is able to heal a physical ailment and help in finding a job.
The architecture of the building is a stone hipped architecture.
Its main feature is that it does not end with a dome., but with a tent. At the base of the tent there are rows of kokoshniks, and on the west side of the church is adjoined by a two-tiered bell tower.
There are two floors in the building: the lower heated with a church in the name of the icon of the Mother of God and the upper unheated church in the name of the Intercession.
Its uniqueness is also in the fact, that it is one of the few surviving religious buildings, built before Patriarch Nikon banned the erection of tent cathedrals.
Tours here are absolutely free, without appointment. You need to wait at the entrance to the lower temple.
The duration of the excursion is approximately two hours.
There are also adapted excursions for children, where the ministers entertainingly tell the history of these places.
To organize it, you need to contact the pilgrim sector.
There are several ways to get to the cathedral..
- From the Otradnoye metro station by bus 605 to Proezd Dezhnev, 32, further on foot or by minibus 280 to st. reserved.
- From Sviblovo metro station by bus 628 to st. reserved. The building is located near the bus stop.
- You can also get from the Medvedkovo metro station to 380 bus, but it will be longer.
Address: g. Moscow, str. reserved, d. 52A
Temple on the map
Enjoy your walks and unexpected discoveries, friends. There are many amazing locations around us. Subscribe to our blog and goodbye!