Guardian 62.11

Photo and description

Rochester Castle is located on the east bank of the Medway River in Rochester, Kent County. Lock, standing on the ancient road of Watling Street, was a strategically important point, protecting the south-east of England.

The first Rochester Castle was built after the Norman Conquest and was given to Bishop Odo, half-brother of William the Conqueror. During the war for the English throne 1088 year Odo supported the eldest son Wilhelm – Roberta. For this, King William II the Red laid siege to Rochester Castle. After Odo's surrender, the castle was abandoned. Nothing is known about the appearance of the first castle, even the exact place of its construction.

IN 1087-89 gg. Bishop Gundulf of Rochester, at the request of King William II, built a new stone castle in Rochester. Despite various restructuring, the castle remains in its original form to this day. IN 1127 year Rochester Castle passed into the possession of the Archbishop of Canterbury William de Corbeille, at the same time, the donjon that has survived to this day was built.

Rochester Castle was besieged during the 13th century unrest – First and Second Baronial Wars. The castle was last captured and plundered during Wat Tyler's Peasant Uprising in 1381 year. Fire, what happened at the end of the Middle Ages, destroyed the floors and roof of the castle. In this form, he remained to this day English Revolution 17 century has not touched the castle, despite, that the city itself was captured by the royalists in 1648 year.

IN 19 centuries around the castle laid out gardens. The ruins of Rochester Castle served as an inspiration for both artist William Turner, and for the writer Charles Dickens. Rochester Castle and its gardens are open to the public from 1870 of the year.

Lock, built on the ruins of the Roman city walls, surrounded by a 12th century wall, however, in the 19th century it was demolished and a new one was built. The gate was rebuilt in the 13th century. The castle itself, its walls and towers are built of Kent limestone.

Despite, that the castle is in ruins, his keep is one of the best-preserved buildings of this type from the 12th century. Donjon – square building, base size 21x21 meters, – built in the southern part of the castle next to the fortress wall. This is the tallest dungeon in England: its height is 38 m. The upper windows are large, and only the uppermost row of windows is decorated. There is a spiral staircase in the northeastern part of the castle, connecting all its floors, and another staircase from the southwest wing leads from the second floor to the third. There are small rooms in the northwest corner tower, maybe the southwest tower was also equipped, rebuilt after destruction in 1215 year during the siege of the castle by the troops of King John Lackland.

Castle overview

According to military historian Allen Brown, the keep of Rochester Castle is one of the finest and oldest in all of England. When it was used as a residence, it was richly decorated with utensils, portraits and furniture. From the outside it looks like a square, whose side length is 21 meter, and at its base there is an additional annex. Pilasters on each side. During the creation of the keep in the southern part of the castle, the main building material was Kent tuff, but the Kan stone was also used, imported from Normandy. Main tower height - 34 m, and the corner elevations are higher by another 4 m. Previously, these outbuildings were gourd. Wall thickness at the base - about 4 meters, and from above - 3,3 m. There is a spiral staircase in the northeast corner, which provides access to any floor. Each of their floors is divided by a transverse wall, built from west to east.

The entrance is in the northern part of the keep on the ground floor level, in a special annex. Previously, the entrance was in the western part of the tower and was protected by a descending lattice. To get from the old entrance to the spiral staircase on the second floor, first it was necessary to round the northwest corner of the tower. A drawbridge with a width of 2,7 m. At some point, the western entrance was dismantled.

The premises of the donjon were divided into separate zones for titled persons, their retinues, and soldier. The first floor was used as storage. On the second floor there was the best castle room with the most complex decoration, with ceiling height 8,2 m. On the same floor there was a chapel the size of 8,5 on 4,6 m. The third floor had a second chapel and there was an exit to the roof, and, perhaps, included additional premises.


View of the Medway River from the top of the keep

Access to the entrance to the underground corridor was in the northwest tower, built at the end of the XIV century in the outer wall. He led towards the river, but has not survived to this day. A fragment of the preserved western wall was built from the same material, as donjon - Kent tuff. This wall remained from the time of the construction of the very first version of the stone fortress, designed by Bishop Gandalf (although it was restored several times). The height of the structure is 6,7 m, thickness at the base - 1,4 m, and the thickness at the top tapers to 0,61 m. Four embrasures were added in the 13th century, although the builders tried to imitate the Norman style of architecture.

The southeast castle wall was also built under the direction of Gandalf., but was mostly reconstructed in the 19th century. A round two-story tower in this section of fortifications has a diameter 9,1 m. Built in the XIII century, she filled the gap in the wall, which appeared after the siege of the castle by John Lackland. The remaining two surviving towers, also two stories high and built of tuff. The closest of them to the donjon, considered elaborate for defense. The last tower was used as a residence and has now been converted into a small house.

Panorama of the South Wall and Donjon of Rochester Castle

literature

  • Brown, Reginald Allen. Rochester Castle. — London: Her Majesty’s Stationery Office, 1969.
  • Brown, Reginald Allen. Allen Brown’s English Castles. — Boydell Press, 1976. — ISBN 1-84383-069-8.

Brown, Reginald Allen. The Architecture of Castles: A Visual Guide. — London: B. T. Batsford, 1984. — ISBN 0-7134-4089-9.

Brown, Reginald Allen. Royal castle-building in England 1156–1216. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Coulson, Charles. Castles in Medieval Society: Fortresses in England, France, and Ireland in the Central Middle Ages. — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. — ISBN 0-19-927363-4.

Coulson, Charles. The Castles of The Anarchy. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Creighton, Oliver. Castles and Landscapes: Power, Community and Fortification in Medieval England. — Sheffield: Equinox, 2002. — ISBN 978-1-904768-67-8.

Cust, Lionel. J. M. W. Turner, R. A. – An Episode in Early Life. — 1912.

kite, C. Urban castles. — CBA Research Report, 1987. — ISBN 0-906780-59-4.

Harfield, C. G. A Hand-list of Castles Recorded in the Domesday Book. — 1991.

Holt, James Clarke. Magna Carta. — Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. — ISBN 978-0-521-27778-5.

Hull, Lise. Great Castles of Britain & Ireland. — London: New Holland Publishers, 2008. — ISBN 978-1-84773-130-2.

Hulme, Richard. Twelfth Century Great Towers – The Case for the Defence. — The Castle Studies Group Journal, 2008.

King, David James Cathcart. The Castle in England and Wales: an Interpretative History. — London: Croom Helm, 1988. — ISBN 0-918400-08-2.

Liddiard, Robert. Introduction. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Lyon, Bryce Dale. A Constitutional and Legal History of Medieval England. — New York: Norton, 1980. — ISBN 0-393-95132-4.

Marsden, Simon; Horsler, Val; Kelleher, Susan. This Spectred Isle: A Journey Through Haunted England. — London: English Heritage, 2006. — ISBN 978-1-905624-17-1.

McNeill, Tom. English Heritage Book of Castles. — London: English Heritage and B. T. Batsford, 1992. — ISBN 0-7134-7025-9.

Parnell, Geoffrey. The Tower of London. — London: B. T. Batsford, 1993. — ISBN 978-0-7134-6864-9.

Ridgeway, H. W. Henry III (1207–1272). — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

The Paul Drury Partnership. Rochester Castle Conservation Plan Part 1: Understanding and Significance. — Teddington: The Paul Drury Partnership, 2009.

The Paul Drury Partnership. Rochester Castle Conservation Plan Part 2: Issues and Policies. — Teddington: The Paul Drury Partnership, 2009.

Thompson, Michael. The Decline of the Castle. — Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1987. — ISBN 0-521-32194-8.

Turner, Ralph V. King John: England’s Evil King?. — Stroud: History Press, 2009. — ISBN 978-0-7524-4850-3.

Warren, W. Lewis. King John. — London: Methuen, 1991. — ISBN 0-413-45520-3.

Waugh, Scott L. Warenne, John de, sixth earl of Surrey (1231–1304). — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Ayers, T.; Tatton-Brown, T. Medieval art, architecture and archaeology at Rochester. — Leeds: British Archaeological Association and Maney Publishing, 2006. — ISBN 978-1-904350-76-7.

Rowlands, I. W. King John, Stephen Langton and Rochester Castle, 1213–15. — 1989.

Volkov A. IN. Music in stone. History of England through architecture. - Already, 2012. — ISBN 978-5-9533-6578-9.

Evgeny Tutlaev

I really like to write about travel and tourism! I am open and I will be glad to cooperate with travel agencies, guides, travel organizers, by air carriers! Write!

Rate author

Гардиан 62.11

Фото и описание

Рочестерский замок расположен на восточном берегу реки Медуэй в Рочестере, графство Кент. Замок, стоящий на древней дороге Уотлинг-стрит, являлся стратегически важным пунктом, защищающим юго-восточную часть Англии.

Первый Рочестерский замок был возведён после Нормандского завоевания и был отдан епископу Одо, сводному брату Вильгельма Завоевателя. Во время войны за английский престол 1088 года Одо поддерживал старшего сына Вильгельма — Роберта. За это король Вильгельм II Рыжий осадил Рочестерский замок. После капитуляции Одо замок был заброшен. О внешнем виде первого замка ничего неизвестно, даже точное место его постройки.

В 1087-89 гг. епископ Рочестерский Гундульф по просьбе короля Вильгельма II построил в Рочестере новый каменный замок. Несмотря на различные перестройки, замок остается в первоначальном виде и на сегодняшний день. В 1127 году Рочестерский замок перешел во владения архиепископа Кентерберийского Вильгельма де Корбейля, в то же время был построен сохранившийся и поныне донжон.

Рочестерский замок подвергался осадам во время волнений XIII века — Первой и Второй баронской войны. В последний раз замок был захвачен и разграблен во время Крестьянского восстания Уота Тайлера в 1381 году. Пожар, произошедший на закате Средних Веков, разрушил полы и крышу замка. В таком виде он остался и по сей день Английская революция 17 века не затронула замок, несмотря на то, что сам город был захвачен роялистами в 1648 году.

В 19 веке вокруг замка разбили сады. Руины Рочестерского замка послужили вдохновением как для художника Уильяма Тёрнера, так и для писателя Чарльза Диккенса. Рочестерский замок и его сады открыты для посещения с 1870 года.

Замок, построенный на руинах римских городских стен, окружала стена XII века, однако в XIX веке её снесли и построили новую. Ворота были перестроены в XIII веке. Сам замок, его стены и башни построены из кентского известняка.

Несмотря на то, что замок находится в разрушенном состоянии, его донжон является одним из наиболее хорошо сохранившихся зданий этого типа XII века. Донжон — квадратное здание, размер основания 21х21 метра, — построен в южной части замка рядом с крепостной стеной. Это самый высокий донжон в Англии: высота его составляет 38 метров. Верхние окна большие, причём украшен только самый верхний ряд окон. В северо-восточной части замка располагается винтовая лестница, соединяющая все его этажи, а другая лестница из юго-западного крыла ведёт со второго этажа на третий. В северо-западной угловой башне находятся небольшие комнаты, возможно так же была и обустроена юго-западная башня, перестроенная после разрушения в 1215 году во время осады замка войсками короля Иоанна Безземельного.

Обзор замка

По мнению военного историка Аллена Брауна, донжон Рочестерского замка является одним из лучших и старейших во всей Англии. Когда он использовался как место жительства, то был богато украшен утварью, портретами и мебелью. Снаружи он выглядит как квадрат, длина стороны которого составляет 21 метр, а в его основании находится ещё дополнительная пристройка. С каждой из сторон созданы пилястры. Во время создания донжона в южной части замка, основным строительным материалом был кентский туф, но также использовался и канский камень, завезённый из Нормандии. Высота главной башни — 34 метра, а угловые возвышения выше ещё на 4 метра. Раньше на этих пристройках были гурдиции. Толщина стен у основания — около 4-х метров, а сверху — 3,3 метра. В северо-восточном углу находится винтовая лестница, которая предоставляет доступ на любой этаж. Каждый их этажей разделён поперечной стеной, выстроенной с запада на восток.

Вход находится в северной части донжона на уровне первого этажа, в специальной пристройке. Раньше вход был в западной части башни и защищался опускающейся решёткой. Чтобы добраться из старого входа до винтовой лестницы на втором этаже, сначала было необходимо обогнуть северо-западный угол башни. Рядом с поворотом мог использоваться подъёмный мост шириной 2,7 метра. В какой-то момент западный вход был демонтирован.

Помещения донжона были разделены на отдельные зоны для титулованных особ, их свиты, и солдат. Первый этаж использовался как хранилище. На втором этаже находилась лучшая комната замка с наиболее сложной отделкой, с высотой потолков 8,2 метра. На этом же этаже была часовня размером 8,5 на 4,6 метров. Третий этаж имел вторую часовню и здесь же был выход на крышу, а также, возможно, включал в себя дополнительные помещения.


Вид на реку Медуэй с вершины донжона

Доступ к входу в подземный коридор находился в северо-западной башне, построенной в конце XIV века во внешней стене. Он вёл в сторону реки, но не сохранился до наших дней. Фрагмент сохранившейся западной стены был построен из того же материала, что и донжон — кентского туфа. Эта стена осталась со времени строительства самого первого варианта каменной крепости, который разработал епископ Гандальф (хотя её и реставрировали несколько раз). Высота сооружения составляет 6,7 метров, толщина у основания — 1,4 метра, а толщина сверху имеет сужение до 0,61 метра. Четыре амбразуры были добавлены в XIII веке, хотя строители и старались подражать нормандскому стилю архитектуры.

Юго-восточная стена замка также строилась под управлением Гандальфа, но в большей степени была реконструирована в XIX веке. Круглая двухэтажная башня на этом участке укреплений имеет диаметр 9,1 метров. Построенная в XIII веке, она заполнила брешь в стене, которая появилась после осады замка Иоанном Безземельным. Оставшиеся две башни из сохранившихся, также имеют два этажа в высоту и были выстроены из туфа. Наиболее близкая к донжону из них, считается тщательно продуманной для обороны. Последняя башня использовалась в качества места жительства и в наше время была переделана в небольшой дом.

Панорама южной стены и донжона Рочестерского замка

Литература

  • Brown, Reginald Allen. Rochester Castle. — London: Her Majesty’s Stationery Office, 1969.
  • Brown, Reginald Allen. Allen Brown’s English Castles. — Boydell Press, 1976. — ISBN 1-84383-069-8.

Brown, Reginald Allen. The Architecture of Castles: A Visual Guide. — London: B. T. Batsford, 1984. — ISBN 0-7134-4089-9.

Brown, Reginald Allen. Royal castle-building in England 1156–1216. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Coulson, Charles. Castles in Medieval Society: Fortresses in England, France, and Ireland in the Central Middle Ages. — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. — ISBN 0-19-927363-4.

Coulson, Charles. The Castles of The Anarchy. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Creighton, Oliver. Castles and Landscapes: Power, Community and Fortification in Medieval England. — Sheffield: Equinox, 2002. — ISBN 978-1-904768-67-8.

Cust, Lionel. J. M. W. Turner, R. A. – An Episode in Early Life. — 1912.

Drage, C. Urban castles. — CBA Research Report, 1987. — ISBN 0-906780-59-4.

Harfield, C. G. A Hand-list of Castles Recorded in the Domesday Book. — 1991.

Holt, James Clarke. Magna Carta. — Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. — ISBN 978-0-521-27778-5.

Hull, Lise. Great Castles of Britain & Ireland. — London: New Holland Publishers, 2008. — ISBN 978-1-84773-130-2.

Hulme, Richard. Twelfth Century Great Towers – The Case for the Defence. — The Castle Studies Group Journal, 2008.

King, David James Cathcart. The Castle in England and Wales: an Interpretative History. — London: Croom Helm, 1988. — ISBN 0-918400-08-2.

Liddiard, Robert. Introduction. — Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2003. — ISBN 978-0-85115-904-1.

Lyon, Bryce Dale. A Constitutional and Legal History of Medieval England. — New York: Norton, 1980. — ISBN 0-393-95132-4.

Marsden, Simon; Horsler, Val; Kelleher, Susan. This Spectred Isle: A Journey Through Haunted England. — London: English Heritage, 2006. — ISBN 978-1-905624-17-1.

McNeill, Tom. English Heritage Book of Castles. — London: English Heritage and B. T. Batsford, 1992. — ISBN 0-7134-7025-9.

Parnell, Geoffrey. The Tower of London. — London: B. T. Batsford, 1993. — ISBN 978-0-7134-6864-9.

Ridgeway, H. W. Henry III (1207–1272). — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

The Paul Drury Partnership. Rochester Castle Conservation Plan Part 1: Understanding and Significance. — Teddington: The Paul Drury Partnership, 2009.

The Paul Drury Partnership. Rochester Castle Conservation Plan Part 2: Issues and Policies. — Teddington: The Paul Drury Partnership, 2009.

Thompson, Michael. The Decline of the Castle. — Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1987. — ISBN 0-521-32194-8.

Turner, Ralph V. King John: England’s Evil King?. — Stroud: History Press, 2009. — ISBN 978-0-7524-4850-3.

Warren, W. Lewis. King John. — London: Methuen, 1991. — ISBN 0-413-45520-3.

Waugh, Scott L. Warenne, John de, sixth earl of Surrey (1231–1304). — Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Ayers, T.; Tatton-Brown, T. Medieval art, architecture and archaeology at Rochester. — Leeds: British Archaeological Association and Maney Publishing, 2006. — ISBN 978-1-904350-76-7.

Rowlands, I. W. King John, Stephen Langton and Rochester Castle, 1213–15. — 1989.

Волков А. В. Музыка в камне. История Англии через архитектуру. — Вече, 2012. — ISBN 978-5-9533-6578-9.

Евгений Тутлаев

Очень нравится писать о путешествиях и туризме! Открыт и буду рад сотрудничеству с турфирмами, гидами, организаторами путешествий, авиаперевозчиками! Пишите!

Оцените автора